What’s Coming Out?

Summer is typically when the world of Video Games comes to a complete and total stop. Game Publishers still fail to realise that they’re most loyal customers are shut-ins who’d rather fritter their summers away in front of a screen than go out and meet new people; learn something or get some Vitamin C. This year has been a touch different though, mainly because the games due out last November got pushed to this May; Batman: Arkham Knight and The Witcher being the most notable, Yoshi’s Woolly World, Rare Replay and Project Cars padded out the console launch line-up whilst smaller-indie darlings like Everybody’s Gone to the Rapture, Volume, Galak-Z and Tembo the Badass Elephant brought gamers a little variety.

New Year celebrations are still a ways off however, so let’s have a look at what I’m excited to get my hands on in the closing months of 2015.

tearaway_unfolded-ps4-screenshot-16

September may be a bit of a wallet wrecker for me. Firstly I’ve got 3 birthdays in the opening 2 weeks of the month and after that? I’ve got to find the cash to snap up both NHL 16 and Tearaway Unfolded. The best part? They both hit the shelves inside a week of one-another. Glorious. Now I’m not saying I’ll prioritize these games over my loved ones happiness, but are socks really  that bad a gift to receive?

I’m somewhat interested in Tony Hawks Pro Skater 5 . Like the rest of the world I’ve not touched a Skateboarding game since Skate 2 came out in 2009, so I’ll be interested to see what they can bring to the table. I wouldn’t mind them going a down the Trials/SSX route with Leaderboards, Scores and Ghosts for a more competitive feel.

Halo_Xbox_One_Reveal_04

October is significantly less expensive for me, or at least it should be.

I don’t currently own an Xbox ONE, but I would very much like to play Halo 5 Guardians. Thus you see my quandary. I’ve not touched the HALO franchise since Reach, and I’m desperate for a way back into the series, especially with Master Chief Collection finally (finally) become a game that works. Thanks Microsoft, way to go.

2848804-star+wars+battlefront+_4-17_d

Rise of the Tomb Raider drops on the 10th of November, and you guessed it, it’s a (ahem) ‘Timed Xbox ONE Exclusive’. Thankfully the wait isn’t as long on PC as it is for PS4 owners (New Year and Holiday 2016 respectively), but it’s long enough to make me resent the decision and so I’ll be waiting for the a sale on PC before I grab a copy. In a totally pro-consumer decision, Fallout 4 isn’t limited to one console at launch, and whilst I’m not a Fallout fan, I feel like I’ll be missing out if I don’t get this on launch day. I’m a sucker for ‘being a part of the conversation’.

Next up, XCOM 2. Coming to a Next-Gen Consoles and a PC near  you (another platform exclusive, although maybe for the best?). I spent a good while playing XCOM:Enemy Unknown, but I’d never say I was god at it (the one time I did ‘complete’ a run the whole of humanity had been wiped out). Let me name my squad-mates after family members and friends, and I’m sure we’ll get along just fine. Suck it Alien scum!!

That’s about it for Novemcraaaapnope. Star Wars Battlefront is also out in November, because spreading out game releases is hard work. As a game, Battlefront has me interested, I just can’t shake the feeling that its going to be BF4 with a Star Wars skin, which is fine if you’re into that sort of thing, but I’d rather my Star Wars come with a plot and actual characters.

Nothing in December. I’ll save some money for Christmas presents and the Steam sale.

combat

The following games don’t yet have a solid release date, but I’m still pretty excited about the thought of playing them. We should have the concluding parts of both Telltale’s Game of Thrones and Life is Strange before the end of the year, colour me excited on both fronts, especially Life is Strange which has turned itself into a potential Game of the Year candidate.

Rollercoaster Tycoon World opens its doors on PC at some point in Q4. And CapyBara’s Below should launch before the end of the year. I guess it looks real pretty. I know next to nothing about the game itself, but it looks amazing.

Leave a Reply

