My Month in Games: Sept ’15

Who said the Summer was no good for video games? I don’t know about you, but September has been one of my more gaming-filled months on record for me. Let’s take a look at what I’ve been playing in September.

Tearaway Unfolded – PS4
4f89a630e9abcbd26c29752ab5e97dadcb3f0aa7
This is me. Or Iota I guess. Either way, look how utterly awesome that little guy is.

Tearaway was my favourite PSVita title, and like any good Vita title, it sold like hot-garbage, so it’s a minor miracle that Media Molecule were given the chance to port their adorable paper-crafted platformer over to the big stage at all. Credit where it’s due, In a time where publisher are only interested in making a quick buck; Sony did us a solid here. Thank you.

Unfolded sees you take control of one of two paper-crafted envelope characters; Atoi or Iota. You’ll find yourself traversing the beautiful, delicate world of Valleyfold, saving yet-more adorable creatures along the way; Pigs, Squirrels and Deer to name but a few.

Unfolded isn’t a like-for-like remake of the Vita title; it’s been totally redesigned with the Dualshock 4 in mind, and as with any self-respecting re-release, the game has been given a graphical polish. Tearaway was a gorgeous game before, but Unfolded might be one of the better looking games on current generation of console; it’s stunning, and totally, unabashedly original to boot. Some might argue that the gameplay mechanics are tediously simply, and it’s not the most challenging game ever created, but it doesn’t need to be.

In a time where every major console release seems to be marketed at the hyper serious FPS market; Unfolded gives us a glimpse of what can be created if you give talented people the chance to do something a little different.

Batman: Arkham Knight – PS4

1435194505-batman-arkham-knight

Speaking of Dark, Gritty and Super Serious…I’ve also been playing Batman: Arkham Knight, and truthfully it’s a bit of a mixed bag. Is 4 Batman games in 7 years overkill? Possibly, I certainly had those thoughts going in but despite my trepidation, there’s still much to enjoy in this world.

So what’s the problem then?

Arkham Knight isn’t a bad game, in fact, it’s actually rather good. It just suffers from the same problem that it’s motion picture brethren fell foul of. Everything needs to be bigger, badder and more deadly; and yet it rarely feels true to the character of Batman.

The biggest cause of complaint of course, is the Bat-mobile. I don’t know about you, but when I go into a Batman game, I want to play as Batman; The Worlds Greatest Detective. I certainly don’t want to blow up 100 ‘unmanned’ tanks, or race around the city running bad guys off of the road, if I wanted to do that I’d go play GTA or Saints Row. At times these levels felt like pure-unabashed filler; a metaphorical roadblock to prevent me from finishing the game too soon.

Tedious vehicle sections aside; Arkham Knight is a fun enough finale to the trilogy that proved you could make a great 3rd person action game superhero game. Arkham Knight isn’t the Batman game we deserve, but it’s is the one we…. (I love that quote as much as the next guy but enough is enough).

Arkham Knight doesn’t reach the heights of Arkham Asylum, but it’s another enjoyable entry into a franchise I can’t wait to crave again. And Warner, make no mistake about it, if you carry on making these games you’re going to find your audience loses interest. Please for the love of all that’s good in this world, stop.

Destiny: The Taken King – PS4
1438859951-destiny-the-taken-king
Gonna get me some of that sweet loot; maybe.

So I had a bit of a love/hate relationship with everyone’s least-favourite-good-game of 2014. I put a glorious 65 hours into Destiny v1, only to suddenly and painfully stop playing after a particularly bad online experience. Almost a year to the week later, and I’m back, and I’m really digging it.

The often discussed light system has been overhauled; loot drops at a much more generous rate and Legendary Marks are attainable without having to dedicate your entire life to it. Gone are the days when I would spend hours running in circles to collect Lunar-Bites, I no longer have to cheese my way to Legendary Engrams and PvP has gone from something I’d rather ignore, to a reliable source of cool-weaponry-earning currency.  In short, Destiny is fun again.

I might never get a chance to play the Raid (I just don’t play games like this/know anyone IRL who is a Destiny fan), but playing the majority of the game without the aid of a Party, I’m having a good time. I’ve no doubt that eventually that will change, but right now, Destiny is something I want to do, rather than something I feel I have to do in order to improve a number.

——-

What did you play in September? Drop me a line in the comments or via Twitter. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

