My Month in Games: October

October, my favourite month! Bad weather, short days and Ice Hockey; it’s the stuff dreams are made of. Fortunately for my wallet, it also means Video Games are hitting the shelves. Let’s take a look at what I’ve been playing in the scariest month of the year.

Destiny – PS4
original
Mmmmm Digital Candy.

Look, I know this is the third straight month in which I’ve spent entirely too long-playing this goddamn game. I’ll save you the re-tread; Destiny is a drug I can’t quit. When I think I’m finally done grinding, I get lured back in by the promise of sweet loot and sexy Halloween masks.

I’ve got a problem, I’m aware of this and I’m slowly trying to move on with my life.

*Update*

I think I’ve done it, I think I’ve finished with Destiny until the next expansion. I’ve not played it in almost ten days; progress. Finally. Sweet relief.

Life is Strange – PS4
I wish more games opted for this art-style.
I wish more games opted for this art-style.

Life is Strange is a tough one. On one hand, we’ve got a game that tells a story that’s almost entirely its own. It’s original from beginning to end, and it’s told in a way that deserves plaudits for how it handles the often difficult subject matter it touches upon.

On the other hand though, the game dislikes its core mechanics and asks the player to ignore some incredible difficult choices made in previous chapters that have to be re-written in order to make the game make sense. For a game that’s entirely about its story, is a problem.

Life is Strange could, perhaps should be a  straight up visual novel. As the series progressed I got the impression that’s what the developers wanted the game to be as it begins to move away from the problem solving scenarios; replacing them with far too much Walking and Talking.

Ultimately I enjoyed my time with Life is Strange, and unlike Telltales ever-growing list of mediocre Franchise games, I’ll likely return to Arcadia Bay if there are more stories to be told. It’s far from perfect, but Dontnod have given us reason to believe that maybe this genre can do more.

Westerado: Double Barreled – PC
westeradowallpaper
Westerado shows that Pixel Art can be charming.

I started, and finished Westerado in a little over two hours on Sunday morning. The game sees you take charge of a mysterious outlaw who’s hell-bent on revenge after his Mother and Brother were brutally murdered at the family ranch.

All in all, I enjoyed my time with the game. I doubt I’d go back for seconds, but if you enjoy a solid Western, or are desperate for something to fill an hour or two, you could do much worse than this.

Kingdom – PC
jpg
Trust me, the game looks really nice.

Kingdom is a somewhat simplistic take on the ever (ahem) popular Medieval-Pixel Art- City Building-Simulator. It’s a bit of a mouthful.

Kingdom is a simply game, but it’s not an easy one, not by a long shot. The core mechanics are learned quickly, but as with many one-and-done type games, it’s much more difficult to master than it is to learn the basics.

Simple mechanics are great, but the game struggles to walk the line between difficulty and unfairness. The AI is a little wonky and the enemies tough; progressing more than 10 days into the game felt more like luck than anything.

I’m going to continue my time with the game, It’s easily digestible, especially in the background, but I can’t shake the feeling that Kingdom is a little too simplistic for its own good.

The Witcher 3: Heart of Stone Expansion – PC
jpg
A Wolf, a Frog and Time Lord walk into a bar..

Heart of Stone, The Witcher 3’s first expansion pack launched a few weeks ago, and after avoiding it for a while, I finally dove head first into the new content.

As with most things CDProjekt throw at us, it’s a pretty enjoyable addition to the main game. The main story arch is fun, if a little light on combat, and I really enjoyed hanging out in this world again; especially with the new set of characters who each brought something new to the mix.

Video Games are a medium in which Story is often an afterthought, but once again CDProjekt have lavished us with some of the best in the business. I would have liked to see more in the way of shiny new weapons (Thanks Destiny), but If more Publishers could greenlight this sort of post-release content, I’d be a very happy boy indeed.

——-

What did you play in October? Drop me a line in the comments or via Twitter. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

