My Gaming Resolutions for 2017

2016 is finally in the rear view mirror, and with 2017 looking set to be (cough) just as much fun, let’s have a look at what I’d like to change in 2017. With Video Games. Obviously.

Yeah.

 

Mix it up

Despite my best efforts over the last 3 years I’ve fallen into something of a video game rut. I still play way too many games, but instead of finding new experiences to enjoy, I’ve played it safe with my time and money and almost entirely stuck with what I already know.

In 2017 I’d like to change that. I’m not saying I’ll get big into grand strategy games, but I want to test the waters a little, I want to allow myself to try new things once. After all, whats the worst that could happen? I decide that maybe pigeon dating simulators are my thing after all?

There are many interesting, beautiful and truly novel games coming out every single day, in 2017 I’d like to challenge myself to try some of those games, even if it means me taking a risk or stepping out of my comfort zone.

Newest latest best?

As someone who enjoys playing and writing about games, I’m often too busy with the new hotness to look around and enjoy what came before. I get stuck in a bog of my own making, a bog that restricts my ability to play games that aren’t in the cultural zeitgeist at that very second. The classic ‘I Want To Be In The Conversation’ problem. Stupid right?

As a famous 20th century philosopher once said ‘Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in awhile, you could miss it’ — A Righteous Dude

In 2017 I want to become less worried about playing the latest games and allow myself to enjoy games from previous years whilst shedding the need to ‘be in the know’. If a game released in 2017 is good enough, I’ll likely get to it eventually, and if I don’t? Thats fine too.

Write em up

Finally and despite my not being all that good at it, I want to spend a little more time writing about the hobby I love; video games.

Video Games are my thing. I’ve got Ice Hockey, I enjoy films and the occasional book, but make no mistake, if I had to do one thing for the rest of my life, it’d be in video games. And as such, I spend way more time than is normal thinking about games, the industry at large, and the people who make them.

Writing about games not only gives me an outlet for my thoughts about games, but it gives me a path to one of my other resolutions, it can allow me to try new games. And that’s exciting to me.

In 2017 I want to continue writing about the games I love, the people who make them and the hobby that has given me so much pleasure over the last 22 years.


What are your gaming resolutions for 2017?

Leave a Reply

