My Month in Games: January 2017

January 2017, finally. With 2016 out of the way I spent the first month of the year playing some games from yesteryear, trying out something entirely different and finally catching up with games that maybe, just might have made my 2016 game of the year list had I played them earlier. Here’s my January 2017 in Games.


Titanfall 2 – PS4 – Finished

At the end of every year I like to go through my favourite gaming personalities Game of the Year list, I’ll pick out one or two games that interest me and then make it my mission to play them. Titanfall 2 was one of those games, and I’m really happy I played it.

That being said, I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t expecting more from the games campaign, it won Giantbomb’s Moment of the Year and finished 5th in their overall ranking, and whilst I think that’s somewhat deserved, the story wasn’t as memorable as I would have hoped. It was still fun though.

I’m going to spend a few more hours with its multiplayer component too, something that I’d usually avoid like the plague. It’s quick, punchy and very satisfying. I doubt it’ll remove Overwatch as my go-to PS4 time sync, but if it keeps me occupied for 10-15 hours It’ll be money well spent.


Oxenfree – PC – Finished

Like Titanfall, Oxenfree was a game I picked up after hearing the internet, game personalities and various gaming sites name it as one of their 2016 favourites. It didn’t disappoint. Creepy, atmospheric, original and charming. It’s an adventure game that is less focused on badly designed puzzles, and more on weaving an interesting story.


Sara is Missing – Android – Finished

The first of my two mobile games this month, Sara is Missing is a short game where you try to solve the disappearance of a girl named Sara. It’s short, maybe half an hour at most, (although I think they want you to go back to it for more story details) it tried some interesting things and the story went places I wasn’t expecting.


Deus Ex GO – Android – Finished

The Go franchise. It’s beautiful visuals, on-point touch controls and use of IP make it one of, if not the best franchise on mobile. Deus Ex Go is the third entry in the series, behind Hitman GO and Lara Croft GO. And whilst it’s another solid entry into the series, it felt a little lacking in charm that made the other two games so popular. That being said, if you enjoyed the first two games, take a run at this. You won’t be disappointed.


Hidden Game by Mom – Android – Finished

So I picked this up after Waypoint recommended it (and its sequel) a few weeks ago. Despite reading the article, I had no real idea what to expect and so, I dove in head first.

What I found was a fun little puzzle game that doesn’t ask much, aside from a touch of patience from the player. It’s cute, its short and it’s free.


Sniper Elite 3 – PC – Finished

I finally took the plunge on Sniper Elite 3. And you know what? It’s a totally serviceable 3rd person stealth shooter. It didn’t over stay its welcome, it wasn’t overly difficult and I had fun playing it.


Mirrors Edge Catalyst – PS4 – Finished

I’m usually quick to abandon games that I don’t enjoy (see below), and yet I finished Mirrors Edge Catalyst in the space of 2, expletive filled evenings. Partly because I wanted to experience the game that my partner loves so very much (although as I type this, I can hear her bemoaning faiths inability to traverse the City of Glass), and partly because the game annoyed me so much that I felt that I wouldn’t be free of it until I’d finished it.

I’ve got more to say about Mirrors Edge Catalyst, but that would require me to spend even more time thinking about it, and that’s not something I’m willing to put myself through.


DriveClub – PS4

So I waited, and waited..and waited for the right time to give Drive Club a go, and when I did..I realised it wasn’t what I was looking for in a racing game. It looks pretty enough, but I found the actual act of racing so utterly devoid of fun that I quickly bounced off of it.

Even with the ‘hardcore controls’ I found the games computer AI to be so frustrating stupid that I lost interest quick.

Perhaps that is less a problem with the game, and more a problem of what I want from a racing game in 2016. Either way, it wasn’t the stop-gap to GT Sport that I was hoping for.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Month in Games: January 2017

Leave a Reply

