You Should Play: Titanfall 2

 

Originally I was a little unsure about writing a ‘review’ for this game. Chances are you’ve either knowingly ignored it, or bitten the bullet and therefore aren’t interested in reading about it. However, I think Titanfall 2 gets a bad wrap. I picked it up on the presumption that I could play split/screen with my partner. I couldn’t, and whilst that was a bit of a let down, I found the rest of the game more than made up for that failing.

Titanfall 2 is a futuristic military first person shooter that unfortunately, seems to have been ignored by vast swaths of the gaming public. It’s quick, energetic and incredibly satisfying.

I’ll begin with the campaign, a campaign I had heard nothing but good things about after it won the hearts and minds of gaming journalists the world over. It’s not overly long, but it does a few things well, namely telling its story and building its world. Where the first game failed, Titanfall 2 steps up and delivers, surprisingly so. Unique mission design, a central relationship that you actually give a shit about and some very cool individual moments elevate this campaign above what we’ve come to expect from the genre. It’s perhaps not enough to warrant a purchase on its own, but Titanfall 2’s campaign produces in ways I wasn’t expecting.

3076984-screenshot2016-06-12at10-38-44am
They did it, the made an AI war machine that you’ll actually care about. 

Now for the real reason I’m writing this, multiplayer. As I’ve mentioned before, I’m really not the online FPS guy. Aside from Overwatch I’ve barely spent more than 5 minutes playing online FPS in the last 5 years. I find them impenetrable, with a player base that seems to be able to spend almost as many hours honing their skills as they do having sex with my mum, as such I often avoid it all together. However I thought I’d give it a go, and you know what? It’s real fun.

Whilst there’s certainly some of what I mentioned above, I found myself actively enjoying my time online. The game does something that no COD or Battlefield has been able to do before, it makes every single player feel like they’re contributing to their team’s success. Without actively looking for it, my K/D ratio was hidden from view, the AI controlled Grunts are cannon fodder that allow even the worst players to provide points to your teams overall score and the games super-quick style of game play never allows you to fall prey to campers or players so cheesy that you get brassed off.

ronin-titan-custom
My preferred Titan, Ronin. Nimble, powerful up close and highly explosive.

It doesn’t end there, oh no. Titan on Titan is where the game comes alive as you navigate your metal god of death around the map, mercilessly ending player controlled pilots left right and center before tackling another player controlled Titan in a battle to the death before ultimately blowing your own Titan, ejecting into the stratosphere and landing whilst your Titan explodes into a million pieces and turning anything in its blast radius into a smouldering ruin. In short, it’s fucking awesome.

Eventually I’ll grow bored and sulk off back to bae (Overwatch) with my tail between my legs, but until that happens Titanfall 2 is all I want to play. It’s a none stop thrill ride that doesn’t let up.

You Should Play Titanfall 2.

Leave a Reply

