My Month in Games: February 2017

After doing nothing but play games in January, February was a decidedly quieter month. I still found time to reconnect with an old franchise that’s back in a big way, put aside some misgivings in the name of one of my favourite franchises and discover a game I wish I’d played 10 years ago and taken a leap of faith with a promising early access title. Here’s My Month in Games.

*Side note, from this month onward, I’m going to be a little more selective with what I include in these posts. Wheat and Chaff ‘n all that.


batman_tt_102_wall-0
If only the game actually looked this swish.

Batman: The Telltale Series – First Chapter – PC

I’ll be honest, I really dislike playing Telltale games. I don’t like how they look, how they run or how the developers seem intent on attaching themselves to whatever IP is available. And yet, here I am again, playing another one. Because Batman.

I’m only through the first chapter so far, but what I played was…well it was exactly what I expected. Buggy, Ugly…but enjoyable.


gh3-lor-01-lg
Punky.

Guitar Hero 3: Legends of Rock – Complete

One of my biggest gaming regrets is that I missed out on the Guitar Hero/Rock Band craze of the late noughts. I didn’t touch my first plastic guitar until 2015’s Guitar Hero Live, and by that point the genre was as good as dead, which is a real shame as I think I’d really fucking enjoy these games if they were ever brought back.

I actually decided to drag out Guitar Hero Live after my experience with LoR, and whilst the core gameplay is just as good, the online offering is…baffling to me. What a waste.


crazy
Nah bruv.

Resident Evil 7 – PS4 – Complete

Resident Evil is back in a big way guys. I’ve got a ‘This Isn’t a Review’ on the way, but if you’re too lazy to read that I’ll say this. Resident Evil 7 takes the franchise back to what it does best. It’s tense, atmospheric and very scary.

Me and my partner played it together, and it was one of the few games that kept her attention throughout. Hopefully we’ll be seeing more of this going forward.


04
If this looks like it might be your thing, it might be your thing.

NorthGard – PC – Early Access

I’ve only put a very limited number of hours into Northgard at the time of writing, but I can see that for an early access game, it’s very polished indeed. Is it perfect, no, but there’s a good amount of enjoyment to be had here.

Think Age of Empires meets Civilisation, with a slightly more colorful approach to its look and feel. Honestly, as someone who wants to play more of this genre, Northgard might be perfectly placed to dominate my gaming time in 2017. Expect to see more of this in the coming weeks and months.

 


 

What have you been playing in February?

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “My Month in Games: February 2017

Leave a Reply

