Ranked: My Top 5 Wii U Games

Nintendo’s latest console, the Switch launched last week. On my birthday. None of you bought me one. What gives?  I’m a little offended to be honest, but in time I’ll find it in my heart to forgive you. Maybe.

Anyway, Here’s my top 5 Wii U games EVER!.


2123419-169_nintendo_land_video_review_wiiU_111612_08

5. Nintendo Land

I know what you’re thinking. What the fuck?

In this bloggers opinion, Nintendo Land was fun, and whilst its to be expected from a first party launch title, it’s also one of the few games that embraced the Wii U’s core concept; the gamepad. Is it perfect? no, but it doesn’t have to be.

You could argue that the games inclusion on this list says more about the quality of the Wii U than it does about the game itself, and you’d be right. That doesn’t mean that Nintendo Land isn’t a decent little experience. With a few friends, a couple of beers and a few hours to kill, it does exactly what it needs to do. It suffers from unfair comparisons to Wii Sports, and some of the mini-games don’t quite hit the mark..but there’s some good stuff here.

Honest.


Mario_kart_8.jpg

4. Mario Kart 8

Mario Kart 8, or as I like to call it…the best Mario Kart released to date, was supposed to be the system seller that the Wii U needed. It wasn’t, but it did give us one of my favourite memes of the last decade; the Luigi death stare.

Not unlike Nintendo Land, Mario Kart 8 is at its best when you’ve got a group of friends, plenty of spare controllers and a large TV. It doesn’t break from the mold of what’s come before it, but it looks awful pretty and plays awful well.

It’s more Mario Kart. And that’s always a good thing.


zombireview

3. ZombiU

ZombiU is an under appreciated gem of a game. Think of it as a beautiful combination of Dark Souls and Resident Evil, set in the surprisingly underused backdrop of London.

When I think of ZombiU, I think of tension filled evenings trying to navigate through a zombie infested Buckingham Palace. I think of hours spent carefully managing my inventory, only to see my character brutally killed, and then infected by my previous character who’s now stalking the world as one of the undead horde.

ZombiU didn’t set the world on fire when it was released, but for me at least, it’s likely one of my favourite games from the last decade, and it’s a real shame we never got a Wii U sequel.


SuperMario3DWorld_img3_lg._V337560241_

2. Super Mario 3D World

I’ve got a secret. I never played Super Mario Galaxy. There, I said it. I didn’t play its sequel either. And you know what? That’s okay, because whilst 3D World isnt’ the revelation that the Galaxy series was, it’s a damn fine Mario game in its own right. And it looks damn good to boot too.

It doesn’t quite have the unique take on 3D that Super Mario 3D Land had, but it offers a fun co-op experience that’s not too demanding for new players, whilst rewarding those crazy kids that like to claw their own eyes out the chance to do just that with some hidden levels at the end.

It’s a Mario game, and a damn good one at that.


Legend_of_Zelda__Wind_Waker_HD_13757578468364

1. Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD

Cop out. That’s what you’re thinking isn’t it? Well guess what, I don’t care. My favourite Wii U game is actually a Gamecube game. Yeah.

If there’s one game on this list that I could play right now, it’d be Wind Waker HD. It’s an absolutely beautiful game that gave the franchise (and it’s fan base) a kick in the backside when it needed it most. It’s inviting, refreshing and bold. And just thinking about it is making me all the more excited for the day I finally get my hands on that new LoZ goodness.

It’s rare that a game grows in popularity as it ages, but with Wind Waker HD we’ve got one of those games. I’m not the guy to tell you if it’s Link’s best outing, but I will say that it’s my favourite. Nintendo hasn’t been able to crank out an adventure like this since, and who knows..maybe they never will.

Also did I mention that this game is gorgeous.


 

What’s your favourite Wii U game? Maybe you were one of the 130 people who decided to purchase Pikmin 3. Was it Bayonetta who earned your love? What about that Captain Toad game?

 

2 thoughts on “Ranked: My Top 5 Wii U Games

  1. I kind of wished Nintendo Land had focused more on multiplayer. The single player attractions were kind of cool, but I don’t think anyone I know really put too much time into them. Meanwhile, the Animal Crossing game and Mario Chase were really popular with my family and friends.

    As to your last point about Zelda, I’ve been playing Breath of the Wild on Switch, and so far I’ve felt it’s easily surpassed everything that’s come before it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

