The SNES Mini Classic Edition of Editions

Remember your childhood? Remember the hours spent avoiding homework? Remember the cries of ‘Dinners ready’ from Mum that you magically didn’t hear? We’ve all got those memories, and Nintendo knows how to sell you those memories over and over again.

The NES Mini was always going to sell, but few of us expected it to turn into the must-have item of the festive season. Even fewer of us expected Nintendo to make the move they made last week; to end production of that same festive phenomenon. A move that not only angered fans of the ‘console’ that had yet to pick one up, but also made us question just what Nintendo had planned going forward. Was this move to help Switch development, was it costing Nintendo too much to make? Do they really have this big a hard on for product scarcity?

Maybe. Or maybe not.

Less than 48 hours after the announcement that Nintendo was shutting down NES Mini production, a Eurogamer article surfaced detailing a potential SNES Mini. Because again, Nintendo knows all to well that its biggest advantage over the competition is its history.

I’ve detailed before my past with the Super Nintendo. It wasn’t my first console, but it was the console that I’ve got the fondest memories of. Super Mario Kart and Biker Mice From Mars still have a hold on me, even to this day. Super Mario World is one of the most iconic games ever created and Super Street Fighter 2 Turbo was the only fighting game I’ve ever enjoyed.

As great as the NES Mini was, It wasn’t for me. I’ve never played any of those games, I’ve got no fond memories of that machine and frankly, I’m not sure I’d enjoy going back to experience them. The Super Nintendo though, that’s a different kettle of fish entirely.

The SNES Mini would be more than just a way to relive my childhood, it’d be an opportunity to play the games I neglected in my youth. Games like A Link to the Past, Super Metroid and Yoshi’s Island. Maybe I’d even get to play the fabled NHL ’94?

The Super Nintendo will always be where I fell in love with video games, and I’m more than happy to hand over some dollar to do that all over again. I just have one wish. And that one wish is this:

Stop with the bullshit artificial scarcity. You’ve got a rampant audience that’s happy to give you money. Give them what they want and they’ll continue to give you what you want.

 

 

Leave a Reply

