My Month in Gaming: April

March was a difficult month for a few reasons, and whilst April was a slight improvement, the early part of the month was hardly the solace I had hoped it would be. With that being said, I still found time to throw myself into some pretty fantastic games. Here’s what I played in April.


Player Unknown’s Battleground’s – PC

d40a348a39b5_battleunknown_1__2

The premise is simple. You land on an island with nothing more than the clothes on your back. Can you survive against 100 other players in a last-man-standing battle royale? If my experience is anything to go by, its doubtful.

I’ll be the first to admit, I was hesitant to spend the best part of £30 on an early access game. A week later and I couldn’t be happier with my decision. You see, whilst Battlegrounds is far from complete, what is here is incredibly fun.

There’s an awful lot of work to be done before Battleground’s is complete, but the game has such a strong base that even with a sometimes iffy frame rate, or a toxic community of 14-year-old boys that seem intent on being the worlds biggest dicks, it’s incredibly rewarding to play.

Snake Pass – PC

Snake-Pass-Fire-Screenshot-3-1.jpg

So I spent some time with Snake Pass, a game that I really wish I’d liked. It’s colourful, immensely cute and utterly frustrating.

In Snake Pass your aim is to navigate a snake around a series of increasingly difficult levels. Each level features puzzles, obstacles and traps that you’ll have to traverse in order to collect three …stonish looking things that will in turn, unlock the next level.

Make no mistake, despite the games cutesy design, it’s immensely challenging. Perhaps to its detriment. You see, I’m not averse to difficult games. Snake Pass however, get’s in its own way. The camera is prone to doing exactly the opposite of what you want it to do at any given time, the worlds themselves are a touch samey and perhaps most frustratingly of all, the games checkpoint system makes death such a hardship, that after 2-3 failures or falls, you’ll wish you were playing something else entirely.

BB-TAM – Android

maxresdefault

I love BB-TAM. It’s unique, charming and utterly addictive. Also, it plays real well in one hand. It’s basically the Perfect mobile. Something I can pick up, play for 10 minutes and then forget about until the next time I’ve got some time to kill.

It’s free on Android and iOS at the moment, and if you like games you can play whilst in a queue, on the toilet or on your lunch break, I can’t recommend it highly enough.

Nier Automata – PC

nierautomata-1280-1-1488398963732_1280w

I don’t think I’ve ever played a game quite like Nier Automata. Is it a JRPG? Is it a character action game? Truthfully, it’s probably something else entirely.

The game is a constant surprise. One minute you’re beating up hordes of enemies and the next you’re walking through a theme park full of dancing robots and a firework display as children sing to you.

The game begins as a throw back to old-school bullet hell games, and then pivots to a more modern character action game before taking another turn and becoming an open world role-playing game. The best part? It’s really fucking good at it.

As of writing, I’m 9 hours into Nier. The game has 5 ‘main’ endings; each required if you want to experience the final ‘true’ ending. I very much hope to experience those 5 endings, although I’m well aware that will require an awful lot of dedication on my part.


 

And there we have it. April 2017 is in the books, and what a month it was. What will May bring?

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “My Month in Gaming: April

  1. I’ve just finished Horizon Zero Dawn, and whilst I’ve already got a plethora of games already planned to play next, I’m really intrigued by Nier: Automata. You haven’t said too much about it but even so, you’ve tempted me further! Damn you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

