Day 4: Your Guilty Pleasure Game

Remember 7 years ago when we were all super into something called tumblrarity, earning reblogs and generally just being little hipsters on tumblr? Fun wasn’t it? That’s why I’ve decided to do something every blogger loves: The 30 day blog challenge. Yay!


Here’s the thing. I hate the term ‘guilty pleasure’.

When I do hear it, I immediately imagine things that are easily mocked or things that someone would rather not admit in public. Like a bad pop song,  a trashy chick flick, or a really bad written but rather easy to watch tv show. With video games it’s a little different because, chances are if it’s a bad game I’m not going to play it to begin with.

All of that is a long winded way of saying this is a hard post to write, but if I had to force out a title that others may consider a ‘guilty pleasure’, then I guess it’d be this:

header

Hollywood Visionary is an interactive novel. It’s premise is simple; You play as a big-time Hollywood exec who’s just set up his new film studio in McCarthy era Hollywood. You’ll navigate the various obstacles in your way as you try to get your first film into theatres, turn a profit and stay one step ahead of the censors.

It’s not flashy, but it hooked me from the word go, and in all honestly probably turned me onto a genre I didn’t know I was interested in. And whilst it’s an awful long way from being a bad game, it’s not something I’d admit to enjoying whilst talking about games with my friends, many of whom seem only interested in the latest AAA release on their PS4’s or XBOX’s. Because I guess being ‘the nerd’ who likes reading is still a thing we have to deal with in 2017.

 


What are your guilty pleasure games? Drop me a line in the comments.

Check back tomorrow for Day 5: A Game character you feel you are most like (or wish you were)

 

 

Leave a Reply

