Day 19: Picture of a Game Setting You Wished You Lived In

I cheated a little. Yesterday’s post was actually hastily written 2 days ago. Whilst it somewhat goes against the spirit of the challenge, I really need a day off from this to focus on some of life’s little obstacles. Those obstacles have (for the most part) been dealt with..for a few days, and I’m back to spend a little time writing about a topic I’m actually interested in. Huzzah.

Video games are really good at setting up worlds. We’ve got lush green ones that are full of magical creatures. We’ve got far too many some that are set in the ‘post-apocalyptic’ future and we’ve got some that prefer to be highly realistic interpretations of the real world. Trying to narrow all of those down until I found my perfect location to raise a family is no small feat. Thankfully however, I’ve thought about this question an awful lot. And as such I already know my answer. Fable 2

11659-Barnum.jpg

I was really fucking tempted to go with The Witcher 3’s Toussaint here, because it shares an awful lot of what I love with Fable 2 world. However, Fable 2 came first, and I think it’s probably the better representation of what I love about those sort of settings.

What do I love about Fable 2’s setting? Well, I think the place is full of good old-fashioned English charm. The houses have the classic Tudor styling’s that (to me at least) scream COME IN!. The towns are full of larger than life characters who talk with funny English accents and the weather varies from snuggle-up-by-the-fire to grab-a-basket-we’re-going-for-a-picnic.

I guess what I’m really saying is that I’m a hopeless romantic who loves the idea of living in 16th century England. Minus the burnings. And the starvation. And the shit-throwing.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

