Day 24: My Favourite Classic Game

Good morning ladies and gentlemen. Today’s topic; My favourite classic game, is a rather subjective topic . Firstly, what are we qualifying as ‘classic’. Are we talking pre 90’s? Because that aint going to work for me, I mean I’d barely been born for Christ sake.

In the interest of speeding things up, I’m going to say anything pre 2000 is considered ‘classic’ for me. Because age.

Now that we’ve got a defined time frame for my ‘classic’ game, let’s get down to it. My favourite classic video game is:

1-super-mario-64-1427644428843-1.jpg

Of course it is. How could it not be. I’m a 29-year-old man who grew up playing Nintendo. It was always going to be Super Mario 64.

I remember the day I first played Super Mario 64. T’was a few months before Christmas and my Mum and Dad had got me the new Nintendo hotness for Christmas. I was allowed 2 hours to play the game before it went away and went off to Santa Clause…or something (??).

Three months later, I finally ripped open the box and got to setting up my new favourite present ever. I spent the first 4 hours of Christmas morning glued to my television screen, thinking how video games could never get better than this.

Some would say they never did.

Mario 64 wasn’t the first 3D platformer, but it was the one that dragged us into a new era of gaming. It changed how we play games, it changed how they make games and even after all this time, nearly 20 years later, it still holds up as a fantastic platformer and one of Nintendo’s greatest works, which believe me. Is saying something.


Check back tomorrow for Day 24: A Game You Plan on Playing.

Leave a Reply

