Some Switch Games That I Kinda Want.

Just over a week ago I admitted defeat and finished The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild. It’s without a doubt one of my favourite games of the year. With its beautiful visuals, charming music and it’s touchingly heartfelt story, I fell in love with it. So why the sadness Dan? Why hold off finishing the game for so long? Well, to be honest with you… I was worried I’d have nothing else to play on the Switch.

Thankfully that isn’t the case, and I’m pleased to announce that quietly, the Nintendo Switch is building a pretty solid collection of games.

In today’s post, I’m going to unearth those games and tell you why they’re worth your time and money. Assuming I can work out how to use the tire-fire that is the Nintendo Switch eShop.


 

Mario Kart 8 Deluxe Edition

MK8.jpg

Look. It’s a Mario Kart game. If you’re into that you’re into that, and if you’re not then you’re not. I will say that this is likely the best Mario Kart to date. So..buy it if you like Kart Racers?

Snipperclips

H2x1_NSwitchDS_Snipperclips.jpg

When I got the Switch, I decided I wanted to use it as a vehicle to play a new type of game; the couch-multiplayer game. And with its two joycons, the Switch is uniquely placed to be the console that delivers those games. And with Snipperclips, Nintendo has started strong.

With Zelda dominating my free time, I hadn’t really given much thought to what I’d play after. But with Zelda done and dusted, I’m eager to get me and my partner playing the adorable game of strategic cutting; and if you’re still not sold on it, there’s a demo available on the eShop that’ll give you a basic idea of what the games about.

Honestly. If you own a Switch you should probably give this game a look.

ARMS

H2x1_NSwitch_Arms.jpg

Here’s the thing about ARMS. I didn’t love what I played during the pre-release ‘test-punch’, I’m still really interested to see what Nintendo does with their new franchise.

ARMS didn’t land all of its punches for me, but it certainly had its moments. The reviews were solid, the game sold okay and I suspect we’ll see more additions to the game going forward. Maybe that’s the reason it makes sense to grab ARMS with both hands? (I’m going to go back to that well whenever possible).

Gonner

3023970-trailer_gonner_wtfannounce_20160318.jpg

I’ve spent roughly 20 minutes in the past week hovering over the ‘buy Gonner’ button. The only reason I’ve not grabbed it is because I fear it’d leave me standing in a pool of my own wee-wee.

With a genuinely unique art style and short; sharp bursts of gameplay, I think Gonner could a game you’re playing for a while. Almost like Shovel Knight or Rogue Legacy. It’s something you’ll pick up, play for ten minutes and then put back down again.

So if you like your games stylish and eye-poppingly difficult, maybe Gonner is a game you should look at.

Thumper

3138617-thumper-screen-03-ps4-us-08mar16

Speaking of eye-poppingly difficult. Let’s talk about Thumper; a tough as hell game that demands your complete and utter attention from minute zero.  I think. You see I’ve not actually had the balls to lay down any money on this one yet but I’m seriously close to doing just that.

I’ve heard nothing but great things about this ‘rhythm violence’ game and from what I hear it sounds and plays just as good as it looks.


So there we have it. The Switch has been out a few months and there’s a small, but growing selection of interesting titles that genuinely deserve your money. On the horizon we’ve got some big first party titles in Splatoon 2 and Mario Odyssey, as well as that intriguing Mario + Rabbids game.

The Switch has a bright future. And I’m very glad to be on board.

Leave a Reply

