My Month in Games: July 2017

My Month in Games is exactly what you think it is. A monthly look back at the games I’ve played that month and what I think of them. 


Splatoon 2 – Switch

H2x1_NSwitch_Splatoon2

I wasn’t sure Splatoon would be for me. I didn’t play the first one, and the recent splatfest left me a little cold. However I did pick it up and I’m glad I did. You see Splatoon 2 isn’t the deepest online shooter out there. It’s not the prettiest and it doesn’t have the largest player base. However it might be the most fun.

In the 10 hours I’ve spent with it I can safely say that Splatoon 2 is the most accessable online FPS I’ve ever played. And whilst some could see that accessability as a flaw, I think it’s a welcome break from the norm.

Nintendo has got a winner in this franchise. It’s funny, original and really fun to play. And it’s another Switch game that I’d recommend anyone try.

Until Dawn – PS4

until-dawn-1

With the arrival of Until Dawn on PS+ last month, it seemed only right to play it through for a second time, this time with my fiancée making all the decisions. And despite a few early niggles, we had a great time trying to save these dumb-ass kids from death.

There are a few issues, namely that at certain times it feels like characters die without really having much of a chance, but all in all this is one of my favourite PS4 games. And I can’t wait to see what Supermassive does next.

GoNNER – Switch

3023970-trailer_gonner_wtfannounce_20160318

I’ve written about GoNNER before. It’s a hyper-difficult Switch game that takes no prisoners. It’s tough. And normally that wouldn’t be my cup of tea.

However GoNNER isn’t interested in you spending hours upon hours playing it. It wants you to play for a few minutes, and I put it down again. And the Switch is perfectly positioned to be the place for this sort of ‘one run and done’ type game.

GoNNER is a beautiful, it’s hard as nails and it will leave you tense and stressed out. If that sounds like your kinda thing, what are you waiting for?

Old Man’s Journey – PC

Old-Mans-Journey-Free-Download

If GoNNER is tense and stressful, Old Man’s Journey is the antithesis of that. Calm, quiet and thoughtful. You play as an old man who’s, you guessed it…on a journey.

The game is all about it’s visual and audio stylings. It looks fantastic and sounds even better. And whilst I didn’t love the sometimes finnicky puzzle aspects, I enjoyed the 2 hours I spent with the game.

The games final shots are both emotional and beautiful. And even though my fience ruined it for me, I would still recommend you fight through the already mentioned puzzle system to get to that.

What Remains of Edith Finch – PC

What Remains of Edith Finch_20170424171505
What Remains of Edith Finch_20170424171505

Finally we’ve got what may be my favourite game of the month. What Remains of Edith Finch is another of those ‘Walking Simulators’ that we love to deride. Unlike Firewatch, Ethan Carter or Gone Home however, the game doesn’t rely on cheap tricks to make it’s tale interesting.

Instead, Finch starts as it means to go on. This is a game about loss. It finds unique, interesting and even humorous ways to deliver that message, but it never deviates from it. Touching, heartfelt and incredibly impactful; Edith Finch is one of my favourite games of the year so far.


And there we have it. My month in games. What have you been playing this month? Drop us a line in the comments.

Leave a Reply

